Voice Coaches Blog

Annie Awards Winners Announced

Posted 3:57 pm by team

Last week, the Annie Awards held their 37th annual awards ceremony and celebrated the latest and greatest in animation. The Annie Awards are like the Academy Awards for animation; for nearly four decades they’ve recognized great achievements in the animated realm. This year’s event was hosted by William Shatner, no stranger to voice overs himself. Not only has he voiced over numerous projects throughout the years, but he’s responsible for one of the most iconic VO’s in television history: “Space… the final frontier. These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise.”

The Annie Awards recognize all different areas of talent in animation, including direction, character design, music, storyboarding, and much more, but of course the categories we were most interested in were the two awards for best Voice Acting!

The winners were Tom Kenny (Spongebob Squarepants) for Best Voice Acting in a Television Production and Jen Cody (The Princess and the Frog) for Best Voice Acting in a Feature Production.

Mr. Kenny is an accomplished voice actor. Although Spongebob Squarepants is the role he’s best known for, he got his start on shows like Rocko’s Modern Life and Dexter’s Laboratory. In the past decade, he’s also provided voices for The Batman, Transformers, Powerpuff Girls, Futurama, Johnny Bravo, Dilbert, Scooby Doo, Handy Manny, and Star Wars: The Clone Wars, among others.

Ms. Cody, on the other had, has appeared on Broadway numerous times but makes her voice acting debut in The Princess & The Frog.

The full list of nominees is below. Congratulations to everyone who was nominated and to Mr. Kenny and Ms. Cody for their wins!

  • - Danny Jacobs – Voice of King Julien – “Merry Madagascar” — DreamWorks Animation
  • - Nicky Jones – Voice of Chowder – “Chowder: The Dinner Theatre” — Cartoon Network Studios
  • - Tom Kenny – Voice of SpongeBob – “SpongeBob SquarePants — Truth or Square” — Nickelodeon
  • - Dwight Schultz – Voice of Mung Daal – “Chowder:The Party Cruise” — Cartoon Network Studios
  • - Willow Smith – Voice of Abby – “Merry Madagascar” — DreamWorks Animation
  • - Jen Cody – Voice of Charlotte – “The Princess and the Frog” — Walt Disney Animation Studios
  • - Dawn French – Voice of Miss Forcible – “Coraline” — Laika
  • - Hugh Laurie – Voice of Dr. Cockroach Ph.D. – “Monsters vs. Aliens” — DreamWorks Animation
  • - John Leguizamo – Voice of Sid – “Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs” — Blue Sky Studios
  • - Jenifer Lewis – Voice of Mama Odie – “The Princess and the Frog” — Walt Disney Animation Studios

Related posts:

  1. Looking Back And Looking Forward

This entry was posted in Education, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment


Voice Over Training by Voice Coaches